“In discussion with….” Marianna Vardinoyannis (Tuesday, 17.11.2020, 16:00)

The Greek Chairmanship of the Council of Europe completes the successful round of online discussions entitled “In discussion with…”, hosting an important Greek philanthropist of international renown in the fields of humanities, education, culture, and human rights, Ms Marianna Vardinoyannis.

Ms Vardinoyannis was recently awarded the UN the Nelson Mandela Prize the highest distinction in the field of humanitarian work, given her action that transcends the borders of Greece. She is the only Greek woman to hold the Grand Cross of the Order of Beneficence, awarded to her in September 2020 by H.E. the President of the Hellenic Republic Katerina Sakellaropoulou. She has been a Goodwill Ambassador of UNESCO since 1999. She is the President of the Associations “Elpida”(Hope), “Orama Elpidas” (Vision of hope), as well as the “Marianna V. Vardinoyannis” Foundation.

The discussion will be broadcast on Tuesday, November 17 at 16.00. Alternate Minister of Foreign Affairs Miltiadis Varvitsiotis, will open the discussion as Chairman of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe. The discussion will be coordinated by the editor-in-chief of Alpha TV, Laura Ioannou.

These online discussions are part of alternative digital actions organized by the Greek Chairmanship and aim to offer an institutional forum of dialogue, open to the general public, with eminent personalities of world stature from Greece and abroad. The purpose of the meetings is to bring the institution of the Council of Europe closer to civil society. The central theme of the Greek Chairmanship is: “Protection of human life and public health in the context of a pandemic – Effectively responding to a sanitary crisis in full respect for human rights and the principles of democracy and the rule of law“.

The discussion will be broadcast on the website of the Greek Chairmanship of the Council of Europe, through the Greek Chairmanship youtube channel, as well as the social media channel of the Council of Europe.